Friday, March 31, 2023



(left to right: stills from “Freda,” and “You Can Always Come Home”

With another year in the books, Miami Film Festival is thrilled to announce the full list of award winners from our 39th edition!

$25,000 Knight MARIMBAS Award: Freda, directed by Géssica Généus

Making its US premiere, the Haiti-set Freda directed by Géssica Généus, earned the Festival’s top jury prize, the $25,000 Knight MARIMBAS Award, supported by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, an international competition for new narrative feature films that best exemplify richness and resonance for cinema’s future.

Knight Made in MIA Film Award – “You Can Always Come Home,” directed by Juan Luis Matos

The $55,000 Knight Made in MIA Film Award, supported by the Knight Foundation, is given to three films that have a substantial portion of their content in South Florida and that best utilize their story and theme for universal resonance.

First prize ($30,000): “You Can Always Come Home,” directed by Juan Luis Matos

Second prize ($15,000): “In Beauty It Is Unfinished,” directed by Greko Sklavounos

Third prize ($10,000): “Un Pequeño Corte,” directed by Marianna Serrano

Audience Feature Film Award – Parsley (Perejil), directed by José María Cabral

Presented to the filmmaker(s) of the Festival audience’s choice of best non-documentary feature of the entire Official Selection.

First runner-up: Mediterraneo: The Law of the Sea, directed by Marcel Barrena

Second runner-up: The Lost Children of Jarabacoa (Dossier de Ausencias), directed by Rolando Díaz

Documentary Achievement Award – South Beach Shark Club: Legends and Lore of the South Florida Shark Hunters, directed by Robert Requejo Ramos

Presented to the filmmaker(s) of the Festival audience’s choice of documentary of the entire Official Selection.

First runner-up: Strangers to Peace, directed by Laura Angel Rengifo and Noah DeBonis

Second runner-up: Keep the Cameras Rolling: The Pedro Zamora Way, directed by William T. Horner and Stacey Woelfel

$10,000 Jordan Ressler First Feature Award – You Resemble Me, directed by Dina Amer

This special award recognizes and supports artists early in their careers as professional filmmakers. It was created by the South Florida family of Jordan Alexander Ressler, an aspiring screenwriter and Cornell University film studies graduate who, during his brief entertainment career, held production positions with the Tony award-winning Broadway hits 700 Sundays with Billy Crystal and Jersey Boys.

$10,000 Ibero-American Feature Film Award – Carajita

Sponsored by WarnerMedia, this prize is given to the best U.S. Hispanic or Ibero-American narrative feature film.

Rene Rodriguez Film Writers Award – One Second, directed by Zhang Yimou

The Rene Rodriguez Film Writers Award, named for Miami Herald writer Rene Rodriguez. The award presented to the filmmaker of one film of any genre and any length voted selected by accredited film critics covering the Festival.

Alacran Music in Film Award – Felipe Pérez Santiago, composer of score for Amalgama

WarnerMedia OneFifty Latino Short Film Award – “Hector’s Woman (La mujer de Héctor),” directed by Ricardo Varona

The $10,000 WarnerMedia OneFifty Latino Short Film Award, sponsored by WarnerMedia, bestows $5,000 upon the winner and $1,250 each to four runners-up.

Runner-up ($1,250): “Chilly & Milly,” directed by William David Caballero

Runner-up ($1,250): “It’s Not Her (No Es Ella),” directed by Samuel Gonzales

Runner-up ($1,250): “For Some Horses (Por unos caballos),” directed by Tomás Alzamora

Runner-up ($1,250): “The Year of the Radio (El Año del Radio),” directed by Samuel Kishi Leopo

$5,000 Miami International Short Film – “Murder Tongue,” directed by Ali Sohail Jaura

Miami International Short Film Award is given to a jury-selected short film (30 min or less) of any genre from anywhere in the world.

The $500 University of Miami Short Documentary Film Award – “The Originals,” directed by Cristina Costantini and Alfie Koetter

This award is sponsored by the University of Miami School of Communications and judged by faculty members.

Audience Short Film Award – “Cariño,” directed by Fernanda Lamuño

Presented to the filmmaker(s) of the Festival audience’s choice of best non-documentary short (30 min or less) of the entire Official Selection.

First runner-up: “Un Pequeño Corte,” directed by Mariana Serrano

Second runner-up “Madame Pipi,” directed by Rachelle Salnave

Best Trailer Award – Lorenz Merz, who served as trailer editor for his film Soul of a Beast

This award is determined by a select members of the Festival’s Program Committee.

$1,000 Florida Cinemaslam Student Film Award – “The Truth of a Thousand Nights,” directed by Chris Molina

CinemaSlam is Miami Film Festival’s annual Florida film school competition. One $1,000 grand prize, along with other honors and recognitions, is determined by previous Cinemaslam-winning alumni.

Best Writing: “Offside,” directed by Emiliano Gioffre

Best Actor: “Offside,” directed by Emiliano Gioffre

Best Actress: “One Call Away,” directed by Camilia Marcano

Best Cinematography: “Cut Short,” directed by Charlie Andelman

Best Technical Achievement: “Symfaunic,” directed by Erin Bergin and Darby Kate Snyder


Read more about the winners here.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Most Popular